Once Saved, Always Saved?

Once, over lunch, a brother asked what is my view on OSAS.  I shared Jesus’ question to Peter from John 21 – “what is that to you?”.  I answered that normally the person who asked this question is already ‘walking’ in the faith, and likely has someone else in mind or is wondering about this ‘doctrine’ or ‘teaching’ often raised by others.

I re-directed the question to him and asked if he has any issue with his own assurance of salvation at that moment, and would like to study this issue with him personally.  Jesus had said “…. what is that to you? You follow Me.”

Very often, OSAS is conjectural for the person who raises the concept.

And often too, we approach OSAS with our own understanding of the many aspects of salvation, with different definitions and reference points for this beautiful and bountiful; broad and multifarious gift.

Before I label another as not subscribing to OSAS, I need to fair and even-handed, and seek to grasp how the other person define the various words and the reference points he is working from.  One can be discussing the position of the believer in salvation while another the process of salvation, and another the product of salvation and much more.  Hence much misunderstanding could be avoided if I seek to be wise and mature in my quest for HIM WHO IS my SAVIOUR, SOVEREIGN, and SUFFICIENCY, and superlatively so, beyond all that I can ASK or THINK.

Who is sufficient to fully encapsulate our inheritance, the working of the exceeding greatness of His power (Ephesians 1).

God’s love and truth for us is profound, immense, boundless and beyond comprehension.

How do I understand salvation from Ephesians 1:14 “until the redemption of the purchased possession”?  Is it mine now, or it is not my experience until … 

What about Hebrews 9:28  “to those who eagerly await him he will appear a second time, not to bear sin but to bring salvation.”?  Does it mean that I am not saved now until Jesus appears to bring salvation to me?

So I need to understand how each person define the terms, and the terms of references he uses when discussing or teaching from the Bible.

So when I listen to David Pawson talking about OSAS in 6 parts on Youtube, am I going to label him or should I have listened carefully, grasp the definitions he used, and then realize that indeed God’s love and salvation is so beautiful, bountiful and boundless for my finite mind.

As I wrote in a previous blog –  “Who is sufficient to reduce the revelations of God in 52 Sundays sermons, in a book, in an article? Somehow, somewhere we will miss out certain aspects of His heart and mind. It is just like an individual looking at the glorious and magnificent facets of a flawless polished diamond – it is sparkling yellow, no it is shining blue, no it is dazzling crimson, no it is glittering red …….”

And the need for me once I have ‘accepted’ the Lord Jesus as my Saviour, to continue on to abide and abound and grow and glow in Him instead the folly of championing OSAS and ignoring or blacklisting those who exhort others to work out our salvation with fear and trembling and ‘seem’ to be teach that works and fruit-bearing must be the product; bearing fruit from the root.

P/S   David Pawson mentioned that he wrote the book “Once Saved Always Saved?”; while Kendall wrote a similar book “Once Saved Always Saved” without the ?   So, what are the frames of reference both are writing from, how did each define all the terms related to salvation?

For me who subscribe to OSAS!, it is not incompatible with OSAS?

Having known that God’s grace and salvation is full and total, it would delightful rather than derisive and disapproving of those who exhort us to mindful of our works and discipleship.  Ephesians chapters 1-3 delineates our riches and position in Christ, and 4-6 follows up with our responsibilities and progress in Christ.  So the first verse in the second section goes on to exhort us “to live a life worthy of the calling I have received ..”  (Eph 4:1).

Leave a Reply

