Confession of SIN 1 John 1:9

Confession of SIN, confession of sins.

NCC’s pastor KM was on the phone.  He told me that J Prince had a new book and would like to send one to me, though it was yet to be released officially.  But he cautioned that there might be some stuff difficult to comprehend and accept, and that JP was apprehensive whether it would go down well.  I asked what was the issue, and he said it was about confession of sins.

“Oh” I rejoined – “it’s not an issue with me.  Prince’s conviction is correct.”  And I went on to offer to send him a few articles from my personal reading and study.  I am not sure about how those articles had helped KM.  Much later, when Prince was preaching on this topic, he shared that he was aware of the ripples – no – more like tidal waves it would cause.  But something that he came across spurred him on.  And there is now no turning back!

Either the waves of this teaching has washed away the debris from the ‘sacred cows’ and Confirmation Bias in thousands of believers (like the washing of feet caked with dust, or the washing of the Word [Eph 5:26] or the washing of regeneration and renewal by the Holy Spirit [Tit 3:5] ) and illuminated our hearts and liberated us from legalistic shackles, OR the waves have crash against the bedrocks of various denominational creeds and convictions. The latter has been real and relentless. Collateral damage to holding on and handing on a truth that liberates and anchor us in our liberty and life of Christ! Romans 10:17 tells me that when Christ speaks, His Word to me engenders faith, not fear. Faith in believing when He says “I do not condemn you, you are forgiven  for I have justified you, redeemed you, and imputed to you My Righteousness. I will contend for your freedom, for I am your Advocate”  (1 John 2:1-2; 2:12)

 

When I was first exposed to Prince’s version of 1 John 1:9, I was skeptical and doubtful.  I had to check up for myself. And the delightful outcome were the following :-

 

1)  Total Forgiveness and the Confession of Sin, a study and message by John MacArthur on 1 John 1:8-10

https://www.gty.org/resources/sermons/62-8/total-forgiveness-and-the-confession-of-sin

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6GA4nPW4QDxRHN6ZjV6WFB4UzQ

2)   Confession – Truth or Chains, a study by James R Owen 2004.  (I can no longer find the original link, which seemed to have disappeared from cyber space, or trace this James Owen.  Let me know if anyone out there has the link.  Thank you.  However, if anyone care to read, one can read it from Pilgrim Sojourner’s Google Drive –

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6GA4nPW4QDxSlJlQV9HWkphOTA

3) “Should Christians Confess Their Sins” – a study by Dr Christian Pope of Sanctification.com.  I corresponded with him briefly years ago, and he said, yes, his name is really Christian Pope!  But his website has been revamped as he is now very much into the Hebraic Root of our Faith, and that study is no longer on his website.  However, I just wrote to him asking about it. Again, its on my Google Drive –

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6GA4nPW4QDxSkVvZWp5aTdGbVU

 

I am more of an Ethiopian first, then a Berean.  Read and listen to what others have to teach, then study and verify.  I put on my parachute which only works when it is open, and hold my Confirmation Bias in abeyance.

 

In my own journey and pilgrimage of faith, I am learning along the way. A lifelong journey!

Acts 8: 31 And he said, “How can I, unless someone guides me?” And he invited Philip to come up and sit with him.

 

I invite you to come into my life and teach me, for how can I understand unless someone guides me

 

 

3 thoughts on “Confession of SIN 1 John 1:9

  1. Hi bro (I still don’t know your name!) 😁 enjoyed your post especially reading the attached notes (MacArthur!) I’m confused because it seems to me that Pastor Prince’s understanding of 1 John 1:9 and all the associated concepts (repentance, sanctification etc) seems at odds with what Pastor MacArthur presented. Or did I miss something? 😅 please enlighten me!

    • Will email personally about myself later. After my first acknowledgement of being a sinner and receiving Christ as my Saviour, I am totally saved and forgiven. John in 1 John 1 that unless people admit they are sinners, they could not be part of the fellowship of redeemed people who knew that God has come in the flesh, Jesus whom John saw and touched, unlike the Gnostics who claimed that no God could ever come upon earth. John later said that those who denied that Christ has not come in the flesh are antiChrists! So 1 Jn 2:1-2 tells us, after your SIN (adamic inherited sinful nature) has been totally dwelt with by Christ’s forgiveness, we still fall into sins. But, we have an Advocate, (against the accuser see Revelation) who will work in our conscience to condemn us. But we have an Advocate! We are forgiven POSITIONALLY (1 Jn 2:1-2, 2:12). But in reality, PRACTICALLY, and performance wise, we still commit sins. So now I DO NOT CONFESS MY SINS TO BE SAVED. I CONFESS MY SINS BECAUSE I AM SAVED! Prince has always be referring to the ‘sacred cow” of christendom and the RC church about constant confessions. Can we remember all sins committed to confess them? What about sins committed in ignorance? So have I been forgiven of these sins? Thank God that as a sinner, I am forgiven and saved totally. But in the event that I goof, I need to confess and come into agreement with the HS’s light, and the HS’s pointing to my Advocate, and continue on to be SANCTIFIED by Grace, not by works of confession and obedience. Salvation is by Grace, Sanctification is also by Grace. Some said salvation is by grace, but sanctification is by works (the synergist, rather than a monergist. I observe MacArthur is a synergist). But he is right about being totally forgiven. He is right about confessing our sins for sanctification in growing, but not confessing to be forgiven. Perhaps you might want to read MacArthur’s sermon from my Google Drive and in the sentences which I highlighted e.g. (sample)

      And the forgiveness that God provides for us is so comprehensive that it removes from the believer all defilement, all shame, all guilt, all punishment forever and replaces it with righteousness, security and eternal reward. This is the gift of forgiveness. It is inviolable, it is irrevokable, nothing and no one can cause the forgiveness of God granted to the believer to be taken back, to be rescinded.

      If you are a Christian then, all your sins for all time have been forgiven. Ephesians chapter 1 reminds us in verse 7 that we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses according to the riches of His grace. And He has much more grace than we have sin, Romans 6 says, “Where sin abounds grace does much more abound.”

      From the perspective of God’s judgment throne, the sins of believers are forgiven…forgiven, even before they’re committed and even if they’re never confessed.

      • Find myself in agreement with the portions you highlighted from John MacArthur’s article. 🙂 It still does seem at odds with what I remember reading from Pastor Prince’s “Unmerited Favour”. I’m not sure it’s only semantics though. I’m not sure if Pastor Prince has shifted his position on whether Christians need to repent/confess sins because last I read/heard from book/sermons, he believes we do not… (Not even “I CONFESS MY SINS BECAUSE I AM SAVED!”)?

        I was a Campus Crusade staff, so I really get the whole legalism/condemnation/guilt slant; especially understanding Pastor Prince’s past. That’s not the gospel. That’s not grace. However, imho, there is a way in which Christians are to do repentance. 2 Corinthians 7:8-13 for example. There is godly sorrow. There is godly repentance.

        So, again, I come back to biblical balance. Not 50-50. But 100-100. Not either-or but both-and. 🙂 God bless you brother!

Leave a Reply

